

Minutes from the 102nd Annual General Meeting Provincial M.R.M.T.A.

Sunday, September 19th, 2021 Via Zoom Video Communications, Inc.

Meeting Chaired by President Evangeline Keeley; minutes taken by Secretary Lori Jede.

Present: Maureen Baird, Sister Josephine Chudzik, Linda DePauw, Rachel Dueck, Eleanor Epp, Bernadette Geras, Ann Germani, Melissa Gingrich, Stephen Haiko-Pena, Wes Hamm, Virginia Heinrichs, Leanne Hiebert, Christina Hutton, Lori Jede, Evangeline Keeley, Michele Leclerc, Laura Liu, Susan Maclagan, Elsie Machovec, Alison McNeill-Hordern, Nancy Nowosad, Jacqueline Ryz, Gina Wedel, Tiffany Wilson.

1. President's Welcome and Address:

President Evangeline Keeley welcomed all to our AGM. She informed us that the Executive would continue to post Covid-19 updates as it pertains to our teaching (in person or online). Please note that in August, it was decided to waive workshop fees for members and instead adopt a donation format this year. Watch for e-newsletters and Take Note magazine updates for ways to get involved and attend future events.

2. Special Recognition:

The following are those who received special recognition for years of being MRMTA members:

20 years - Susan Maclagan, Jacqueline Ryz, Elena Levina, Dianna Neufeld, Tuesday Royko, Marla Winters **30 years** - Nancy Nowosad, Rita Dyck, Melody Koop

Retired - Glory St. Germain, Regina Angeleau and Arline Collins

Transfers to other provinces – April Gibson

Welcome back to re-instated members - Krystena Krahn and Donna Beaulieu Welcome to new members - Jason Vanwynsberghe and Nikita Labdon

A moment of silence was taken to remember long time member Dr. Kenneth Nichols, who passed away in August.

3. Adoption of Agenda:

MOTION: THAT THE AGENDA BE ADOPTED AS CIRCULATED. MOVED BY ALISON MCNEILL-HORDERN. SECONDED BY VIRGINIA HEINRICHS. ALL IN FAVOUR. MOTION CARRIED.

4. Minutes of the Provincial AGM September 20, 2020:

MOTION: THAT THE MINUTES OF THE PROVINCIAL ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING FROM SEPTEMBER 20th, 2020 BE ADOPTED AS PRESENTED. MOVED BY MICHELE LECLERC. SECONDED BY SISTER JOSEPHINE CHUDZIK. ONE MEMBER ABSTAINED. 20 MEMBERS IN FAVOUR, MOTION CARRIED.

5. Executive Members' and Committee Chair Reports:

All reports are included in the AGM package.

6. Adoption of Reports:

MOTION: TO ACCEPT THE OFFICERS' AND COMMITTEE CHAIR REPORTS AS AMENDED. ONE ADDITIONAL ITEM IS TO RECOGNIZE NANCY NOWOSAD'S 30-YEAR MEMBERSHIP. MOVED BY ELEANOR EPP. SECONDED BY WES HAMM. ALL IN FAVOUR. CARRIED.

Melissa highlighted the upcoming CMW events this year. The first will be Sun Nov. 21 @ 2:00 when the student concert on our YouTube channel will go live. The second is a junior masterclass on Sat Nov. 27 where Julianne Warkentin will be some of her own pieces during this live/live streamed event. Tickets are \$15. The CMW page on the website contains PDF links to Julianne's publications. Register for this event using the online link.

7. Treasury Report:

Lori Jede highlighted the financial review committee and presented next year's volunteers to review the financials of 2020-2021 (Dianne Norris, Rita Dyck, and Annette Hay). Our current savings account holds approximately 2-1/2 years of our operating expenses as recommended.

8. Adoption of Financial Report

MOTION: TO ACCEPT THE FINANCIAL REPORT AS PRESENTED. MOVED BY LORI JEDE. SECONDED BY LEANNE HIEBERT. ALL IN FAVOUR. CARRIED.

9. New Business: NONE

10. Nominations/Elections:

Today we are voting for the positions of:

VICE PRESIDENT: Ann Germani was appointed by the Provincial Executive to fill this position and is letting her name stand for election to complete the term of office which is the 2021-2022 year. As there were no further nominations from the floor, Ann Germani was declared elected.

COMMUNICATION COORDINATOR: As there were no further nominations from the floor, this position remains vacant for the final year of the 2-year term.

The following have been nominated to serve in MRMTA Provincial Executive positions for a 2-year term:

Student Programming Coordinator – Stephen Haiko-Pena Members' Programming Coordinator – Michele Leclerc Events/Social Coordinator – Rachel Dueck Member at Large – Laura Liu Member at Large – vacant

As there were no further nominations from the floor, the above-mentioned persons were elected to their respective positions. Evangeline then presented the MRMTA Provincial Executive for the 2021-2022 year as follows:

Provincial Executive Committee for 2021-2022:

Past President – Leanne Hiebert
President – Evangeline Keeley
Vice-President – Ann Germani
Registrar – Gina Wedel
Secretary Treasurer – Lori Jede
Communication Coordinator – vacant
Brandon & Westman Branch Rep – Everett Hopfner
Southern MB Branch Rep – Wes Hamm
Member at Large – Laura Liu
Member at Large – vacant
Student Programming Coordinator – Stephen Haiko-Pena
Members Programming Coordinator – Michele Leclerc
Events/Social Coordinator – Rachel Dueck
Take Note Editor – Rachel Dueck
Webmaster – Bernadette Geras

Special thanks to Linda DePauw, Viktoriya Tuz, and Eleanor Epp who are now finished their terms on the Provincial Executive.

REMARKS – Virginia Heinrichs thanked Evangeline and the rest of the executive and committee chair members for all of their hard work.

Adjournment: Meeting adjourned at 2:17pm. Thanks for zooming in to the 102nd AGM of the MRMTA!